Day 27: Floating Kitty(s)

Today’s assignment was to make something that floated.  I thought of floating candles and a variety of (as usual) complicated things.  On a lunch break at work I made this box with the kitty sketch as a prototype.  I was trying to make the kitty look like he was watching the water underneath him (or maybe a fish).  He’s rather cyclopean, but I actually like him and how he ends up looking at his reflection.  I didn’t even notice it until I uploaded the photo.  So this was going to be a “reject” (I did not do him in waterproof ink even) and ended up being my favorite!

I used to love origami as a kid.  And I have to say, children of the world today, it is SOOOOO much easier to make something following someone on YouTube than from a 1970’s origami book!  This is a cute little kitty I found on YouTube and I thought he would float since his body could hold a lot of air under it. He’s a little top-heavy and his head likes to tip down more than his body.  But hey, he floats.  I’m good with that.
He’s so cute.  You can find how to make him on this You Tube video.  Jo Nakashima who makes him makes a large number other amazing origami pieces!
And he’s made out of super-special glow in the dark paper!!!!!!!!  Woo hoo! (that’s the best part about him)

Leave a Reply

