Day 38: Fabric Cat Doll

My disclaimer is that this is the first doll I’ve made since high school.  And I was really excited about it when it started a few weeks ago… and then kinda stressed out over the face yesterday.  I picked the fabric and drew the outline for it a few weeks ago.  Had a friend who does a lot of sewing (and has a sewing machine!) put it together. It was fun to involve someone else’s talents.  Then I stuffed it and put on eyes and the nose yesterday and today.  I probably had 5-6 versions of eyes – smaller, bigger, rounder, all felt, different buttons.  I think I like this version the best. I learned before you put in stuffing, you should sew the buttons on, then sew on the felt.  I did not do this and so they are glued. I’m wondering how soon they will pop off.  The nose is sewn on now because the glue already let go.  LOL!  It’s a learning process! And at some point, I decided he didn’t really need a mouth or whiskers, right? Probably looking at a book to get some suggestions first would have been helpful, but that’s too easy! Overall, I’m pretty happy with it for a first try in years.

The back side is yellow.It’s surprisingly large!  How did I do that?And here it is, hanging with Wonky Doll (who I love, but did NOT make).The idea for a fabric doll came from looking at some of the Owl A Day creations by another 365 creator, like this super cute pincushion and this awesome finger puppet.

7 comments
  1. Ange said:

    It’s CUTE! Great job. It’s purr-fect. (You HAD to know that was coming!!)

    I think that the order of sewing/stuffing would be a decision based totally on preference. I have made many animals and pillows over the years and, personally, I would sew felt features and buttons last myself. That way I could play with the layout and also so that I would know that the felt is sitting correctly. If you have parts popping off, you might want to consider sewing them down now. Before they fall off. That way you know they are exactly the way that you want them. And so they don’t become cat toys.

    Just my two cents. I am very much an amateur sewer.

    • hmmm, good to have someone’s perspective on the order of things. thanks! (although our cats will be sad they won’t have new toys LOL!) i think i may have gone overboard on the glue as the felt is rather “hard” right now and i couldn’t get a needle through it. live and learn. progress not perfection.

      “purr-fect” – LOL! good pun :)

  2. That is one of the most adorable things I’ve ever seen. I’m a new fan and can’t wait to see what you do next. Your projects are very inspiring to me! Thank you.

    • Thank you! I see you’re doing a 365 project, too. Awesome. Good luck!

  3. Mary said:

    How cute is he! And a purr-fect companion for Wonky Doll, (had to keep the pun going). Now I may have to try a fabric bird…

  4. niky_la_bi said:

    i love it! it’s so cute

Leave a Reply

