Day 72: Silk Screen Cat

So the cat y’all voted for a couple of days ago was for this T-shirt design. I am fascinated by silk screening and was so excited to do this. I found a YouTube video of how to make a silk screen with ModPodge glue and an embroidery ring. I penciled the design and painted the glue on the fabric yesterday.
And in the spirit of Noah Scalin’s suggestion to learn a skill from someone else, my brother (who used to do a lot of skateboard inspired design silk screening), helped me ink this T-shirt.
It was family affair, complete with white wine. How can you go wrong?!

20111022-231213.jpg

20111022-231312.jpg

20111022-231330.jpg
The first T-shirt was an old one, a trial run. I found a bunch of tiny places ink came through, that I taped off. And had to take a break – the ink dried on the screen and the screen needed to be washed and allowed to dry. And the ink that leaked through to the cardboard needed to dry before putting a fresh T-shirt back on it. So, after filling our bellies with dinner, we inked the second T-shirt.

20111022-231907.jpg
I am really happy with this. I didn’t have to deal with photo emulsion paper and exposure times. And I was afraid the title on the book would blur, but it came out very clear. I have to say I’m tempted to do more T-shirts!!

Have a great night everyone!!

8 comments
  1. Mary said:

    Aaaa! I love it! So much fun! I assume the Mod Podge washes out?

    • Thanks Mary. It was a lot of work, but so much fun! I’ll come back and add in the link to the YouTube video series if you want to check it out when I’m home. The ModPodge (per that video) is water soluble when it’s wet, but is not when it is dry. So other than it breaking down from repeated pressure with the squeegee if you make a lot of shirts, it’s permanent. I think…

  2. Spider said:

    Wow! Great choice! Planning Kitty is perfect for this.

  3. Ange said:

    That looks great! I love that your family is involved with your project.
    :)

    • Thank you! It was a nice weekend reunion. And it was really touching that they were supportive of the creativity project.

  4. touchmonkey said:

    I was there. Super fun. Very impressed with my sisters talent and drive to do this project. Yay BA!!!!!!

    • For a second I thought I had a stalker “I was there” – LOL! Hey bro! Thanks for all the help with cats this weekend. Good fun! :)

Leave a Reply

