Day 81: Projected Cat

Today’s cat was brewing in my mind – a projection of some kind – for a week or so. But after I saw this TED Talk with French street artist JR, it took a whole new dimension: LARGE! And on the side of our house!

One of Noah Scalin’s suggestions was to make something larger than life-size and this certainly qualifies. I may repeat that suggestion in a totally different way in the future if I have time for it.

I have to say I was both anxious at having the front of our house brightly lit up with a cat photo (as cars drove by) and excited.  Large things have power!

I was thinking of making today’s project make a statement by putting up a photo of a “homeless” cat but I didn’t have any photos of one.  And 10 years ago I found Chaos on the side of the road, a kitten soaked with flea product, a thick layer of flea dirt on him, crying and shivering. Nearby there was a cardboard box someone had probably dropped him off in. I suspect someone local knew I walked my dog every morning and put him there for me to find, but I’ll never know. He was the cutest, insane kitten. So he got the name Chaos, and the rest is history. So maybe if I did a whole project of projected cats, they would all be rescued cats with a story.

Here’s one of JR’s many pieces, which served as my inspiration. His TED Talk is interesting if you want to check it out, the link is above.

6 comments
    • Thank you! One of the most fun ones to do so far!!

  1. Joyart said:

    Holy Smokes! What a terrific project!! I would have loved to see it in person. Chaos is looking good. He must be feeling like a rock star now…

  2. Mary said:

    I believe this is the coolest project you have done so far! Chaos the homeless kitty now happily in a home and ON a home. Too cool!

Leave a Reply

