Day 84: Orange Clove Cat Ball

The challenge that I took on today from “365: A Daily Creativity Journal” was to make something where the sense of smell is essential. I briefly contemplated “what smells like cat” as inspiration but only came up with stinky things (e.g. infected ear discharge, cat poop, pee), so I changed tracks and decided to make something that smells good. I have never actually smelled an orange clove Christmas ball or pomander before, and this smells absolutely divine. It makes for better smell than it does a cat, as I found that my cat running around the orange grew to giant proportions and his legs didn’t fit. Ahhh, well. It still smells great! And it’s the only orange in the house. So here it is.

If I find myself disliking the cat enough, I can always fill the surface with more cloves and wrap a ribbon around it for Christmas. I hear the cloves act as a preservative and you can keep them for years. I’m not sure that will happen if only 1/2 the surface or less has cloves in it. Hmmmm. Anyone know?

Hope you are having a great day!

5 comments
  1. Becky said:

    If my memeory serves me they don’t last nearly as long if the surface isn’t almost all covered with cloves.

    I enjoy following yoour blog….being creative vicariously! Becky

    • Thanks for your input on the orange-clove ball preservation! I appreciate it. I’m glad you like the blog. There are many more 365’ers. If you want to see some projects that are totally inspiring check out makesomething365.com. Mary, Ange and Melissa who comment on my blog often are participants. And Noah is the godfather of the project :). It’s fun! And people (like you, nudge nudge) can tweak it to be what you want. A weekly project, every other day, daily for only a month, whatever works for you. When I started I had only committed to 10 days to see how it would go. People run daily, write a haiku, write a weekly song, practice photography, study languages. I was thinking I might (or might not) practice the banjo daily for a year in the future. Okay, I’m going to stop trying to convert you! I’m glad you enjoy the project. Thank you for taking time to check it out!

      • Okay, I totally went on and on there. Sorry about that!!!

  2. Ange said:

    I have no idea. The girls and I did them once and they went moldy. Clearly, we missed a step or something for that to happen. I like yours! I like the way it’s tail curls around. :)

    • Thank you for your compliment and your feedback on the aging orange-clove ball. I think I’m going to turn it into a prickly little clove ball in a few days! Maybe if I get enough cloves in it? It will be a not-very-scientific experiment!

Leave a Reply

