Day 87: Sweatshirt Cat

Some projects take days of research and many trips to the local craft store, and this was one of them. I know nothing about sewing, but I had so much fun doing this! I had to keep going to the store for different color quilting squares (I didn’t even know they existed a couple of weeks ago), different threads, iron-on adhesive (also new to me), a new sweatshirt. I made the decision to use an old sweatshirt because this is kind of a test run. I might actually wear it more often now. And I looked at lots of images to see what I liked, read about how to apply appliqués, watched videos on how to hand stitch. I’m proud to say that’s a back stitch there, folks. Only proud because I didn’t know what a back stitch was few days ago either. This isn’t finished yet, but I think it qualifies as a cat. :)

20111110-214914.jpg

20111110-214926.jpg
And I have to give credit for the inspiration to another 365’er, Sanne who is doing a heart-a-day project.

20111110-215843.jpg
I love her sweatshirt!

Thanks for visiting!

6 comments
  1. Cindy said:

    Super job Grubby Grrrl…I may be inspired to make a dog sweatshirt….your stitching is remarkable.

    • I hope you do!! The stitches are with embroidery thread. Because the very edge isn’t sewed down, it may start rolling when washed – FWIW. Yay – dog sweatshirt too!!

  2. Ange said:

    Nice work! Why isn’t it finished? What do you have left to do?

    • It’s super secret! Not sure I’ll finish it tonight or tomorrow, but the finished product will be coming soon…

  3. Spider said:

    Beautyful work!! And not done yet? I wouldn’t change anything about it!

    • Thank you! And I’m just about to post the next version if you want to see. Hope you don’t hate it. But even if you do, that’s ok. I don’t even love every project I do! :)

Leave a Reply

